The Student Room Group

deleted

….
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by spliced
I’m in year 12, feeling super lost about what course to take at Uni. My background is strong (I got 99999999988 at GCSE’s and recently got A*A*A* in maths, psychology and geography in my end of year mocks) but I’m just struggling with picking what to do, as i’ve never had a set path in mind. There are a couple of routes i’ve considered as i’ll list below:

1. Psychology: Have always found this interesting, and was pretty set on doing it, but everytime I settle on it I back track and start doubting it (mainly because of prospects). I have a particular interest in the neuroscience aspect, but wouldn’t be able to do a degree in neuroscience as I don’t do bio/chem and so was thinking I could take on cognitive neuroscience or something similar as a masters after the undergrad in psych. And if I decide I don’t want to pursue psych in the long term I can go into HR, marketing etc (but these are not the most appealing to me).

2. Environmental science/planetary science/geology: I actually like physical geography a lot (not a fan of human at all), and could see myself going into a related sector. A limitation again though is my lack of natural sciences at a level. Would this be a considerable option? The humanitarian sector is also something that appeals to me.

3. Architecture: this one is more unlikely as I dont take art at a level (which I believe is preferred), but I did achieve a 9 in Art at GCSE (not sure if it holds any value). This is an interesting option for me as I feel like it combines a range of skills, and naturally I am more of a creative person. I do think I would be able to pursue this, but maybe just not at a top uni.