The Student Room Group

Advice after failure to secure placement

Hi all,
I'm a second year student studying Accounting & Finance. I recently failed to get a placement year, I was wondering... are job prospects looking thin because I failed - will I be able to get a job once I graduate now? I heard from somebody that my career is already finished since I haven't been able to secure a placement, despite getting final stages on multiple companies. Grades wise, I predict i will obtain around 75% in second year overall, however I have still been told my career's down the drain since I didn't obtain a placement.

On a separate note, I was looking into beefing up my CV due to the aforementioned (need to stand out from other graduates somehow!) Apart from applying for internships, is it worth perhaps getting an AAT Level 2 & 3 qualification? Or would this be made redundant upon graduation?

Any information is greatly appreciated. My head's just spinning around right now so in dire need of advice. Thanks.
Reply 1
Original post by Lt Shadow
Hi all,
I'm a second year student studying Accounting & Finance. I recently failed to get a placement year, I was wondering... are job prospects looking thin because I failed - will I be able to get a job once I graduate now? I heard from somebody that my career is already finished since I haven't been able to secure a placement, despite getting final stages on multiple companies. Grades wise, I predict i will obtain around 75% in second year overall, however I have still been told my career's down the drain since I didn't obtain a placement.

On a separate note, I was looking into beefing up my CV due to the aforementioned (need to stand out from other graduates somehow!) Apart from applying for internships, is it worth perhaps getting an AAT Level 2 & 3 qualification? Or would this be made redundant upon graduation?

Any information is greatly appreciated. My head's just spinning around right now so in dire need of advice. Thanks.