The Student Room Group

Meng vs Beng

Hi, I have just finished my second year at University and I am currently studying EEE. I have applied for many internship roles but didn't manage to get selected for one. So currently I have no experience in the engineering industry.

I have met the requirement to upgrade my course from a Beng to an Meng and was wondering if it was worth upgrading. I have heard doing Meng makes it easier to be Chartered and is now the industry norm and companies now expect students to graduate with Meng rather with Beng.

I am now it a tricky situation where I dont know what to do, should I carry on Beng apply for jobs and gain experience which I am lacking as more and more companies are looking for people with industry experience? or should I carry on studying for a year and graduate with Meng but have no experience in the engineering world, would this make me overqualified for some entry level jobs?
Original post by Zixon57
Hi, I have just finished my second year at University and I am currently studying EEE. I have applied for many internship roles but didn't manage to get selected for one. So currently I have no experience in the engineering industry.

I have met the requirement to upgrade my course from a Beng to an Meng and was wondering if it was worth upgrading. I have heard doing Meng makes it easier to be Chartered and is now the industry norm and companies now expect students to graduate with Meng rather with Beng.

I am now it a tricky situation where I dont know what to do, should I carry on Beng apply for jobs and gain experience which I am lacking as more and more companies are looking for people with industry experience? or should I carry on studying for a year and graduate with Meng but have no experience in the engineering world, would this make me overqualified for some entry level jobs?