The Student Room Group

Im a scottish student heading to study in England

Should i be worried about how paying back my £37,000 in student loans to cover me tuition fees will affect my future plans in life or does it sound scarier than it actually is.
Original post by Louis donnachie
Should i be worried about how paying back my £37,000 in student loans to cover me tuition fees will affect my future plans in life or does it sound scarier than it actually is.

Hey Louis 👋

It sounds a lot scarier than it is! You only start paying back after graduation when you earn above the threshold which is around £25,000 per year. You pay back 9% of whatever you earn above £25,000. So say your salary is £30k, you're only paying 9% of £5k. When you start a new job it will ask you for your student loan information and the payments will get deducted from your paycheck each month, just like tax and national insurance is. A much 'better debt' than a credit card or bank loan in my opinion

Hope this helps ☺️

Essex Student Rep - Hayley
Original post by EssexStudentRep
Hey Louis 👋

It sounds a lot scarier than it is! You only start paying back after graduation when you earn above the threshold which is around £25,000 per year. You pay back 9% of whatever you earn above £25,000. So say your salary is £30k, you're only paying 9% of £5k. When you start a new job it will ask you for your student loan information and the payments will get deducted from your paycheck each month, just like tax and national insurance is. A much 'better debt' than a credit card or bank loan in my opinion

Hope this helps ☺️

Hi Hayley,

Thankyou for the response, will my debt from the student loans have a bad effect on getting a mortgage and finance in the future
Original post by Louis donnachie
Hi Hayley,

Thankyou for the response, will my debt from the student loans have a bad effect on getting a mortgage and finance in the future

Hey Louis,