The Student Room Group

advice for a US student traveling to UK

hi! i'm an american student who will be studying abroad in worcester during the spring (4 months). i am trying to figure out the best way to save money for travel (mainly trains/the tube/planes).

as i understand it, using a railcard would be the best way for me to get around england, correct? would an oyster card also help? i do plan to visit london a lot and see the sights. i also want to visit scotland and ireland if finances allow for it lol.

any tips for the trains but also for travel in general and how to save money would be really appreciated!!! thank you :smile:
Reply 1
Hi,
If you plan to use trains id recommend the train line app, it’s a way to plan and buy train tickets online, then have it saved to your apple wallet. For a railcard the type im familiar with is just for a discount. You can get a student railcard (16-25) which gives 1/3 off tickets. Depending on how many journeys you make it can be worthwhile. An Oyster card is specifically for London and its surrounding areas
R.e. Scotland and Ireland, they would both likely be flights as a train to Scotland would take a good 5 hours, and Ireland is a flight or maybe ferry, theyre both definitely possible but quite a way away, but pros are that Worcester is quite central, so you could get to other cities/towns conveniently (for example, Birmingham is a big city which isn’t too far)
Original post by briar1101
hi! i'm an american student who will be studying abroad in worcester during the spring (4 months). i am trying to figure out the best way to save money for travel (mainly trains/the tube/planes).

as i understand it, using a railcard would be the best way for me to get around england, correct? would an oyster card also help? i do plan to visit london a lot and see the sights. i also want to visit scotland and ireland if finances allow for it lol.