The Student Room Group

What is it like living in England as a Muslim?

I am an international student hoping to move to the UK next September for higher studies. I wear the niqab (face veil). I was wondering if it is easy to live in England as a female Muslim. Is it likely that I will be looked down on because of wearing a niqab and covering myself? Can I pray my daily prayers outside or in uni without much hassle?

I would like to know about life as a religious muslim in England. If someone has any advice about this, I will be really grateful.
I was born in the UK and not once have I ever experienced racism or discrimination. But I guess it depends on where you live. But believe me there's nothing to worry about . And in the uni/college I go to there are prayer rooms and I'm pretty sure most unis do nowadays.
(edited 6 months ago)
Reply 2
Original post by siocrystal
I was born in the UK and not once have I ever experienced racism or discrimination. But I guess it depends on where you live. But believe me there's nothing to worry about . And in the uni/college I go to there are prayer rooms and I'm pretty sure most unis do nowadays.

Thank you for the assurance! I'm just a bit concerned about being a niqabi in the UK. Hijabis may be quite common there, but not niqabis. I'll take your experience into account☺️
Reply 3

If you don't mind me asking, do you hear the hijab?
Reply 4
Yes I do

Ah ok that gives me more assurance! And which regions of England are more Muslim friendly?
Luton, Blackburn, Birmingham, London and Dewsbury are some places
Reply 6
Luton, Blackburn, Birmingham, London and Dewsbury are some places

I only heard of Birmingham and London 😅. But thank you so much! I will Insha'Allah come to the UK next year after I'm done with my A levels.
Wish u luck .❤️
Original post by Anonymous #1