The Student Room Group

I'm really struggerling to write my UCAS statement. Can anybody help me, please?

I am applying to do the BSC in mental health nursing for 2024/2025. How bad would it be to say that I started learning more about mental health, due to wanting to find out about my own mental health. As I began to explore my own mental illness I began to learn about other people's experiences with a variety of mental illnesses, including those less common than mine. I learnt about these mainly by watching YouTube videos. I feel like I shouldn't mention YouTube, right?
hmm yeah, maybe if you've read any books you could mention that, you don't really have to go into depth you could just say smth like
"my interest began when i began exploring my own mental health through researching and reading {book}"
Reply 2
Try listening to some of these podcasts and picking several topics that interest you : https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qxx9/episodes/player

Any discussion of your own MH issues looks self-interested / self- indulgent - not a quality to recommend you for any nursing degree.
Reply 3
Original post by McGinger
Try listening to some of these podcasts and picking several topics that interest you : https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qxx9/episodes/player

Any discussion of your own MH issues looks self-interested / self- indulgent - not a quality to recommend you for any nursing degree.

I mean, I've asked several people about mentioning my own mental health, and you're the only one that's said that.

I haven't done much with my life, because I've been unwell for a very long time. I would research about my own mental illness, because I couldn't get help, and I was trying to fix myself.
Reply 4
Original post by KeziaF
I mean, I've asked several people about mentioning my own mental health, and you're the only one that's said that.