The Student Room Group

Marketing MSc with no experience?

Hey,

Just wondering whether anyone else has done a Marketing masters without any prior knowledge or experience in the field?

I studied a BA in English Language and Linguistics and am now looking at doing a masters in Marketing. Although I qualify for all of the minimum entry requirements for this masters, I have never even had a placement/work experience in marketing.

I came out of uni and took a year out and worked in a minimum wage hospitality job.

How do I write a personal statement with this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you :smile:
Hi @aimz10

In your personal statement speak about your new found passion in marketing and how this will benefit your future endeavors. Also include parts about your personal life, and how your previous qualification will be a great add on to this postgrad program.

Best wishes,
Minkateko - University of Essex Online Student Ambassador

Original post by aimz10
Hey,

Just wondering whether anyone else has done a Marketing masters without any prior knowledge or experience in the field?

I studied a BA in English Language and Linguistics and am now looking at doing a masters in Marketing. Although I qualify for all of the minimum entry requirements for this masters, I have never even had a placement/work experience in marketing.

I came out of uni and took a year out and worked in a minimum wage hospitality job.

How do I write a personal statement with this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Original post by aimz10
Hey,

Hey @aimz10 :biggrin: I would say if you find the right type of course for you then you'll really enjoy studying a PG course in Marketing. You already have a good grounding in that you come from a Humanities background, and plenty of PG Marketing courses will assume no prior knowledge of the course previously so don't worry about that.