The Student Room Group

Should I drop out of art school to pursue physics?

Im in my first year of art school right now, and I keep having doubts about not doing a physics degree. I love physics a lot, and am reading a physics book in my spare time. I also love illustration and would probably pursue it in the future, but I know that illustration would be relatively easy to get back into without a degree, whereas vice versa it would be quite hard. (I also know that having more physics knowledge would probably inspire my art).
I know student finance offers another year for situations like this but I would still have to think about the financial implications.
I did art, physics, and maths for alevel and got A,A*,A* (A in physics). Ive slightly forgotten all of my alevel knowledge so id have to reteach myself things, and I’m not even sure if id be accepted anywhere. Still, my biggest worry is if I’ll regret not doing a physics course… and this would be my last chance right now. Should I start seriously considering it or not? I know I’ll enjoy it less compared to art school, so would it be worth it? (Especially considering i could easily go into the illustration industry afterwards if i wanted.)
Reply 1
You will always regret it if you don’t do it now . So you should pursue it if you are having doubts about your current choice .
Original post by misosoupp
Im in my first year of art school right now, and I keep having doubts about not doing a physics degree. I love physics a lot, and am reading a physics book in my spare time. I also love illustration and would probably pursue it in the future, but I know that illustration would be relatively easy to get back into without a degree, whereas vice versa it would be quite hard. (I also know that having more physics knowledge would probably inspire my art).
I know student finance offers another year for situations like this but I would still have to think about the financial implications.