The Student Room Group

Mathematics refreshers ahead of looking at a masters

I'm considering going back to Uni part time for my masters in Mathematics, maybe pure or applied. I'd be looking to enter in the 2025 intake, so I have a bit of time to figure out if I really want this.

I graduated 8 years ago with a 2:1 in Mathematical Sciences, but I was in a different place mentally and am confident in my ability to give the time and attention and dedication to the studies now.

My intention would be Imperial, for either Pure Mathematics or Applied Mathematics. I have no career desires from this, I am already sorted for my career; this is purely for my own personal growth and interests.

Sadly, I don't have access to my course notes or books from my bachelors.
Does anyone have any recommendations for refresher courses or books so I might get a feel for it all again and see how I get on?
(edited 4 months ago)
Original post by Its Phil
I'm considering going back to Uni part time for my masters in Mathematics, maybe pure or applied. I'd be looking to enter in the 2025 intake, so I have a bit of time to figure out if I really want this.

I graduated 8 years ago with a low 2:1 in Mathematical Sciences, but I was in a different place mentally and am confident in my ability to give the time and attention and dedication to the studies now.

My intention would be Imperial, for either Pure Mathematics or Applied Mathematics. I have no career desires from this, I am already sorted for my career; this is purely for my own personal growth and interests.

Does anyone have any recommendations for refresher courses or books so I might get a feel for it all again and see how I get on?

Hi there,