The Student Room Group

I have missed near enough the entire of term one of year 2 at university

So I am kinda close to giving up - but I know I won't go back if I leave

I am a mature student, struggled a lot with mental health when I was younger and didn't get on with studying. After having my daughter I decided to go back, did an access course recieved really good grades and got into uni. Year one I loved, a few struggles with childcare. but I loved it.
Year 2 - I began suffering with extreme migraines and live twenty minute drive from campus so I couldn't drive I couldn't get out of bed. When I was getting better my daughter would get ill from nursery and yeah we are at christmas and I have not completed a single assignment. I have spent days trying to catch up on lectures and seminar podcasts if they are available but 7 classes, all lectures and seminars since September. In addition- I have no friends and know no one at uni. The people I got on with took gap years or left and they moved me into a different group so I literally know no one and can't ask for any help from peers.

I need the money from maintenance loan jan as i have majorly been using my credit card as I havent been able to go to work and life has just been overall bad. So a) I need that maintenance loan and b) anytime I say Im taking a break and will go back- I never have. multiple colleges over the years. I am nearing 30, my options are becoming limited for university

Is it possible to catch up a whole term or am I just a lost cause that has no choice but to leave? Any advice on catching up?
Original post by Anonymous #1

I am a mature student, struggled a lot with mental health when I was younger and didn't get on with studying. After having my daughter I decided to go back, did an access course recieved really good grades and got into uni. Year one I loved, a few struggles with childcare. but I loved it.