The Student Room Group

Are these grades okay/average/standard for a first year student?

I’m in my first year at university (studying a BSc). I achieved a 61% in my first chemistry exam, a 67% in my first genetics exam and a 60% in an appraisal. Are these grades good for my first 3 assessments?
Original post by Anonymous
I’m in my first year at university (studying a BSc). I achieved a 61% in my first chemistry exam, a 67% in my first genetics exam and a 60% in an appraisal. Are these grades good for my first 3 assessments?

Those are 2:1 territory grades so yeah, you're doing alright. If you feel like you're underperforming, don't worry, it's your first year, only first semester, still finding your footing and making a not too shabby effort too, so keep up the effort!
In all fairness only you can answer this question

If you are happy with these grades then its great and you can continue as you are.

If however, you feel you have under performed then you may need to look at why, but without going so hard on yourself. As it is first year uni is it easy to get carried away with the excitement of the nightlife and the freedoms that come.

Remember it is about finding some balance, get the excitement out of your system, but also at the same time know grades are important if not from a career perspective then from a self achievement perspective, it comes down to the person you are and what makes you happy.

How do you feel about the results you have got in the first 3 assessments?
Original post by Anonymous #1

Hi there,

I'd say that these are successful grades, however, it's up to you if you wish to aim for a first (70%+ usually). If so, I recommend chatting with your professors to ask where you can improve to reach 70%.

All the best,

Jaz - Cardiff student rep
Reply 4
It's pretty usual for first years to get grades that seem a bit dissapointing relative to the results they were getting at A level for the same effort.