The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

Exam deferral circumstances - is it likely I succeed?

I am in my second year of study at LSE. I already have undiagnosed anxiety (I know because the people around me view my constant anxiety attacks as abnormal). I also have an issue where I periodically find myself absolutely unable to do anything because it feels like I am disconnected from the world and nothing matters. I wouldn't say it's depression since it's not consistent, but every two weeks there are a few days where I find no joy in doing anything, absolutely anything in life, and if I do more than just lie on my bed quietly I get a raging headache and nausea. NHS will take forever to diagnose me as I have heard from people. I also just went through the traumatic event of a close friend unaliving themself and have not recovered by any means. It's made my conditions worse and I have a general fear of the library on campus now because that was where I found out. I have skipped so many classes not because I haven't done the work or readings but because I cannot bring myself to go to campus. It makes me feel so anxious and depressed. I have talked regularly to my academic mentor about this and he is aware of my mental health circumstances. I have also talked with student counselling services, but they've only really told me to seek help outside of the LSE, and as a low functioning person who cannot even go to scheduled meetings, etc, this is highly discouraging. I am worried as we are still 3 months away from exams that I will not be able to defer. But the reality is this is a problem that is going to last chronically and at the pace I am now I am entirely sure my exams will be impacted by something way out of my own control.
Reply 1