The Student Room Group

Living alone at uni

Hi! I'm currently a 2nd year student at uni but I didn't 2 gap years so I'm a couple years older than most my peers (not much of an issue most the time but sometimes it's noticeable)

A bit of background, I currently live in a house with friends I met last year like most people do but I'm having real problems with 1 of the 5 people I live with. Her room is directly above me and she's very loud and I struggle to focus on studying and sometimes get woken up or find it hard to sleep. When I ask her to be quite it just causes arguments. We also have clashes over other things as well and I just generally don't consider her a friend at all and hate living with her.

I've been considering moving out on my own into a studio for next year as I think I'll prefer it as I'm a bit of a neat freak and I'm quite introverted. But I'm worried about telling my other housemates as they aren't that bad and if it wasn't for the other person I'd definitely stay with them. I'm also worried I'll get excluded from the group and we won't be that good friends anymore. But I feel I'd be able to focus on my degree better and feel less stressed on my own.

If anyone could provide any opinions, thoughts, advice or experiences I'd really love to hear them
Original post by cocopops1618
Hi! I'm currently a 2nd year student at uni but I didn't 2 gap years so I'm a couple years older than most my peers (not much of an issue most the time but sometimes it's noticeable)
A bit of background, I currently live in a house with friends I met last year like most people do but I'm having real problems with 1 of the 5 people I live with. Her room is directly above me and she's very loud and I struggle to focus on studying and sometimes get woken up or find it hard to sleep. When I ask her to be quite it just causes arguments. We also have clashes over other things as well and I just generally don't consider her a friend at all and hate living with her.