The Student Room Group

Adult Nursing intake 2024

Hello, I’m a college student interested in studying Adult nursing at university. I know which uni I would like to firm, which is Cardiff. However, I am at a loss for insurance as both unis seem equally good in different ways. My offer for both is fairly similar with nottingham being Distinction, B, C and bournemouth being 104 tarrif points. It would be beneficial to know people’s experience of both university’s , nursing or not, as well as experience on placement and living in each city.
Thank you very much
Placement experiences are pretty much the same no matter where you are in the UK so I would worry about that so much
Original post by Gracecb
Hello, I’m a college student interested in studying Adult nursing at university. I know which uni I would like to firm, which is Cardiff. However, I am at a loss for insurance as both unis seem equally good in different ways. My offer for both is fairly similar with nottingham being Distinction, B, C and bournemouth being 104 tarrif points. It would be beneficial to know people’s experience of both university’s , nursing or not, as well as experience on placement and living in each city.
Thank you very much

Hi there! Congrats on your offers, first of all :smile:

Cardiff is a lovely place to study! I think one of its benefits is that it has the city vibes but everything is also quite close by. Prices are still quite affordable compared to the rest of UK. The campus for healthcare courses such as nursing is typically based in Heath, which is a 20min bus or a 35 minute walk. There is accomodation closer to the Heath campus as well as Cathays campus, if thats what you prefer. There's a really nice student community here and with having over 200 societies, there's a lot to do! The Cathays campus is right next to city center as well, so going out for shopping or a night out is usually a short walk away :smile: