The Student Room Group

Opinions on Psychology A level?

Currently in year 11. I'm probably going to take Psychology A level, even though a few people have advised me not to. I was just looking for some opinions on the A level in general?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'm in my second year of A level psychology. The first year I enjoyed quite a bit but in retrospect it was more the great teachers and fun class activities than the actual course content. This year I'm really not enjoying it. The course focuses on some relatively boring topics and you don't even learn that much. It's more about getting your evaluation points for the exam right and all that.

I don't mean to discourage you, but that's my personal experience. Have you thought of studying sociology? That's madly interesting!
Reply 2
Thanks for the response, yes I have thought about studying sociology alongside psychology but eventually I would probably like to go into clinical psychology so the more experience I have studying psychology the better!
Reply 3
If your thinking of doing that as a career then definitely go for it! btw I do think psychology is a fascinating field, it was the alevel course I had a problem with not the subject.
Reply 4
The A Level is a good way to get a basic insight into the field of Psychology. If you do intend to go onto a Psychology degree then this will help you make a much more informed decision, you'll also go into your studies with some hopefully sound background knowledge. You could get through the degree without it, but I know some people who found it a little tough to get to grips with things if they hadn't studied it before. Not to mention the people who had completely different ideas as to what Psychology actually is.

I never found the A Level boring, but that is simply a matter of opinion and isn't really all that useful to you and your decision.
Reply 5