The Student Room Group

Should I bother applying to Edinburgh University?

I am a 20 year old student who is going to start A Film and Television studies access course in September. I don't know the University's policy on mature students or how they're dealt with.

I have been college before but dropped out due to mental health problems. I'm fine now though. I don't have past work experience in the film industry either.

I want to apply for the Film studies course at Edinburgh University.

What are the chances of me being accepted? And is there anything I can do from now to increase my chances?
Hi!

Have you contacted Edinburgh about them accepting access courses? I don't see anything on their website, but I think you should ask them before you give up. As for improving your chances, I would say showing a real passion for your subject as well as good grades will make all the difference.
Original post by David G92
I am a 20 year old student who is going to start A Film and Television studies access course in September. I don't know the University's policy on mature students or how they're dealt with.

I have been college before but dropped out due to mental health problems. I'm fine now though. I don't have past work experience in the film industry either.

I want to apply for the Film studies course at Edinburgh University.

What are the chances of me being accepted? And is there anything I can do from now to increase my chances?

Hello!

I have just begun a social sciences and humanities access course based at Edinburgh Uni (I am 21) and I have spoken to a couple of tutors/know people who completed the course prior to me and got accepted in to Edinburgh.