The Student Room Group

American Applicant - What are my chances? and Advice?

Hey all,

Fairly new here, although I've been lurking around. I'm an American high school student.

I'm currently in my second to last year of high school, so I'm thinking quite a bit about higher education. In addition to applications to American Universities, I want to apply to Cambridge (St. John's College), Durham (St. Chad's College), KCL, Manchester, and Warwick for Computer Science (with Management where possible).**

I will be applying with official scores (not predicted) of 5s (highest score) in AP Computer Science, AP Physics C Mechanics, AP Calculus BC, AP Statistics, AP Environmental Science, AP Microeconomics, AP Macroeconomics, and AP Chinese.

In my last year of high school, I will be also studying AP English Literature, AP Psychology, and AP Art History.*

I'm also thinking about self-studying A-levels in Further Mathematics and take the CIE version in the States. However, I am really adverse to getting a conditional offer.

Please let me know how you think I will do at each of the universities, whether I should pursue A levels in Further Mathematics, and what else I can do to increase my chances.

*I do have the option of taking AP Chemistry in my last year, but again I'm adverse to getting a conditional offer. Apparently, Physics, CS, Calculus, and Statistics should be enough math/science subjects for offers at all the Universities.

**Since I will be applying to Computer Science at Cambridge, will including Management in my Personal Statement be a huge detriment? I'm worried they will see it as a lack of dedication to Computer Science.