The Student Room Group

Mature student mums

Hi all,

I'm currently 31 years old with young children and planning with eager anticipation my return to university to study a MA in history/historical studies. I am hoping that this will lead me on to further study and experience and as I enjoy my subject so much, I'm very excited. I graduated 10 years ago so it's taken a while to get to this point. I will be studying part time so that I can continue to support my young family with school-work, activities and general home life as I have done for the past 5 years.

I wondered if there was anyone else in a similar boat? I'm very excited to progress and while I'm aware that it may all end in my being in the same situation employment/career wise, it's not the only string to my bow and is part of my 'bucket list' so I'm very happy that I even have the opportunity. I'm highly unlikely to be able to start before my youngest starts school in 2 years time, but as with anything when you have children, everything takes longer than normal! :biggrin:

I would love to talk to anyone who is in a similar situation so I stop boring my husband with 'history stuff' and so I can pass the time and hopefully when the time arrives, discuss applications, work etc too.

Hope to speak soon.
Reply 1
'mature student mums' aka MILF'S looool
Original post by aimlou83
Hi all,

I'm currently 31 years old with young children and planning with eager anticipation my return to university to study a MA in history/historical studies. I am hoping that this will lead me on to further study and experience and as I enjoy my subject so much, I'm very excited. I graduated 10 years ago so it's taken a while to get to this point. I will be studying part time so that I can continue to support my young family with school-work, activities and general home life as I have done for the past 5 years.