The Student Room Group

Really want to be a teacher but don't think i'm capable

Hi, I graduated last summer and since then I've not got a graduate job and have been working in retail.

Recently I've decided to go for teaching. Well I've always wanted to be a teacher since high school but having low confidence and anxiety put me off. I plan to get school experience when schools open again and want to apply for a RE secondary PGCE 2016.

However, right now when I think of myself as a teacher I get scared. I don't have the confidence do go infront of a class and teach. Just thinking that my teaching will impact the performance of pupils in their GCSE and A Levels worries me and it seems like a really big responisibility.
Original post by chloeww
Hi, I graduated last summer and since then I've not got a graduate job and have been working in retail.

Recently I've decided to go for teaching. Well I've always wanted to be a teacher since high school but having low confidence and anxiety put me off. I plan to get school experience when schools open again and want to apply for a RE secondary PGCE 2016.

However, right now when I think of myself as a teacher I get scared. I don't have the confidence do go infront of a class and teach. Just thinking that my teaching will impact the performance of pupils in their GCSE and A Levels worries me and it seems like a really big responisibility.

I felt like that too :smile:

Teaching is a bit like acting - you can adopt a persona in the classroom that is 'firm but fair' and confidence will come.

It's a great job watching children grow into young people - rewarding and exhausting at the same time.

Teaching RE means you will have lots of classes so lots of names to learn but passing GCSE RE is not as critical as maths so there is less pressure. In my school we don't give NQTs Year 11 or Year 13 classes so they don't have the worry of external exams to prepare the students for in their first year of teaching.
(edited 8 years ago)