The Student Room Group

Patent Attorney with a 2:2 or 3rd in Chem? or should I forget this and do a masters?

My story goes I studied A levels in Biology, Chemistry and Physics with grades attained at AAA (all first attempt without retakes).

Originally, I wanted to do medicine but failed to get a place after applying first time (during Year 13) and once again during the subsequent gap year.

I ended up doing chemistry which I didn't enjoy at uni and found little motivation or joy from doing this course since my dream and passion was always to become a medic.

I was supposed to graduate last year after being given a chance to re-take for one semester of exams (3 papers in total) due to illness.

Now I was supposed to sit these papers initially last year in Jan, then retook them later in the year during the summer but because of illness, I had to apply for another chance to sit the papers to the special considerations team who once again offered me the chance this year in Jan but with full time work as an IT technician and with illness haunting me again just prior to exams, I once again failed these exams but again I got another chance to sit these exams this month, as you can see my degree is just dragging on!

I promised myself this would be the last time no matter what but looking at my prospects I cannot see myself just settling for a third degree!!!

This time around I had to be admitted into hospital very recently (2 weeks ago) because of glandular fever - its like I've been cursed!

So its been next to impossible for me to prepare for these exams coming up, so I have decided that I will not sit these exams, however I am contemplating on whether I should apply to retake these papers in Jan 2016.

I require around 70-75% to average a 2:2 in my degree, so the pressure is high but in my heart I know I can do this, if I study flat out for about few months.