The Student Room Group

Appealing a Rejection from KCL?

Hey.... so I recently got a rejection from KCL. Their reason was that i didn't meet the minimum entrance requirements when I did.... if their reason was that my personal statement wasn't strong enough or anything else i'd let it go but my grades?

I'm an international Student so i do an a level equivalent called CAPE (Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations) and CSEC as my GCSE Equivalent

For CSEC I got 11 one's ( basically 11 A*)
For CAPE Unit 1 (aka As) I got 4 Ones (4 A's)
For CAPE unit 2 (A2) I'm predicted 4 Ones as well

So i don't get it.....
Get in contact with them and ask. Not sure why they rejected you.
Original post by NinjaChlo
Hey.... so I recently got a rejection from KCL. Their reason was that i didn't meet the minimum entrance requirements when I did.... if their reason was that my personal statement wasn't strong enough or anything else i'd let it go but my grades?

I'm an international Student so i do an a level equivalent called CAPE (Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations) and CSEC as my GCSE Equivalent

So i don't get it.....

You'll have to ask them, not us. If they have made a mistake, then you need to discuss it with them. If, as I suspect, it's a case of them having too many qualified people and having to thin them out somehow, you won't get anywhere, but if it's a genuine misunderstanding, they might at least reconsider you. Go over your application with a fine tooth comb to see if you have accidentally missed something out.
Reply 3
Original post by Carnationlilyrose
You'll have to ask them, not us. If they have made a mistake, then you need to discuss it with them. If, as I suspect, it's a case of them having too many qualified people and having to thin them out somehow, you won't get anywhere, but if it's a genuine misunderstanding, they might at least reconsider you. Go over your application with a fine tooth comb to see if you have accidentally missed something out.