The Student Room Group

American Doing Post-Grad in London..Some Questions

I am an American student who has been given an offer to the one of the major University of London institutions for a post-graduate program. However I had a couple of pressing questions esp. considering the cost of living in London..

1) Is it cheaper to live in student accommodation with or without catering? Or is it cheaper to find private outside university accommodation instead?

2) Do most postgrad students in the UK live in student accommodation or outside of it? Or do really only international students live there post-grad.

3) With London having such a high cost of living how does one get by as a postgrad with a fixed or no income at all? Then again I'd have the same problem here at home since the city I live in is not cheap as well and most of the grad programs I was admitted to here in the US are full time too.
Without catering is usually cheaper. Private housing can be cheaper than university-run accommodation if you share with other people. Look on www.spareroom.co.uk to see the cost of flatshares near your university.

In London most will live in privately rented accommodation. Most London universities (especially those in the centre) do not offer accommodation to second or third year undergraduates, so their dorms (called halls in the UK) are usually full of 18 year olds and postgraduate students who didn't want to rent privately. There are a few postgraduate-only dorms e.g. http://www.goodenough.ac.uk

I imagine they live very cheaply (which is possible if you know where to shop, even in London), and many will work part-time or in the holidays.
Original post by Matador23
I am an American student who has been given an offer to the one of the major University of London institutions for a post-graduate program. However I had a couple of pressing questions esp. considering the cost of living in London..