qshkqn
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi there just wanted to get some opinions,

My dad owns two Cafes and one restaurant and one of them is already rented to someone else, I studied business BTEC in sixth form but didn’t like it at all and probably failed, I have already gained experience in some responsibilities as a manager however I am not yet ready, I enjoy life in the business but I absolutely hate sixth form. I am not planning on carrying on business as it is a bunch of waffle and very frustrating. I feel like my life is set in my dads creation and I feel like my legacy and family can grow in the business.

Thank you if you reply !
Realitysreflexx
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Being a cafe owner isnt always very lucrative, further unless your dad is quite older and ready to retire when would you get the keys to the business truly? You need to discuss this with him, though realistically a degree in management and some own personal working experience would be highly recommendable either way. Forge your own path, you can always expand the cafe with real world experience.
qshkqn
Rep:
?
Can you tell me why I should get a degree though? I mean I don’t need to show my dad a cv?
FloralHybrid
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I can’t help but grin at the fact that you’ve described the cafe business is a bunch of waffle....

😏
qshkqn
Rep:
?
I said business BTEC is a bunch of waffle you misunderstood
Realitysreflexx
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by qshkqn)
Can you tell me why I should get a degree though? I mean I don’t need to show my dad a cv?
diversification, your individual set of skills. Imagine your kid saying in school my dad didnt go to university. A restuarant isn't really a full time job, if you want to become a successful restuaranteur then get a degree and run the business on the side. And have two incomes in the future.