The Student Room Group

Why do we always want what we can't have?

Okay so, I'm a student living with 5 other flat mates, basically I cannot get over one of the girls in the flat. Thing is I didn't even have feelings at all until she kissed me drunkenly one night. We get along great as friends and I feel like there's more there but she always talks about other guys and stuff and I just take it as a general hint. We spend a lot of time together I would say compared to others in the flat. My heart feels broken everytime I stop and think about what could be but probably won't be. Ever since I got these feelings it's been hard to focus on life in general (yeah really that bad), I get severe anxiety and my overall mental health is deteriorating. I'm not a creep, if she doesn't want it that's totally inderstanble, but I genuinely feel sick to my stomach and my sleeping is terrible. I'm just really in a dark hole and I only come out of it when I'm around her, she would have no idea I'm so down and beat.
And before anyone says to just tell her how you feel, she's a shy girl and we live in the same flat so I don't think that's the best idea if it didn't work out as planned.
You are a student! There will be hundreds or thousands of single available young women at your university campus every day.

This is a golden opportunity for you to meet and get to know as many of these as you can. Most won't develop into anything romantic. The odd one here and there will.

Readjust your focus from your life and your inner world and from what goes on within your student digs to what is going on at your university and the world beyond. Do that with a glass half full frame of mind.

The best way to overcome anxiety, according to the NHS, is to face down your fears. The student world is a great place to do that, because it's such a safe environment and the consequences of failure in any endeavoour are not that great.
Reply 2