The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
ronaldo91
Hi
What do you think my chances are of getting an offer despite getting a U in Economics at AS and not doing further mathematics?
AS grades: AABU (maths,biology,chemistry,economics)
A level prediction: AAB (dropped chemistry)
GCSES: 6A*4A (Maths A* year early)

Any help appreciated...

although i am not an expert, i would say relatively remote :s-smilie:
Reply 2
Again, not an expert, but I've heard anything economics related at LSE is extremely competitive. I would guess most candidates would have Further Maths and AAAA/AAAB at AS. So I would say very slim. Unless you had mitigating circumstances which caused your U in Economics and your school doesn't offer further maths.
Reply 3
LSE economics is highly competitive, as suggested by its full name, London School of Economics.

Not much chance I'm afraid, then again this is pure speculation on my part.
You aren't predicted AAA, which is enough of a problem anyway, and a U in Economics - well, there's no chance to be blunt.

You'll be better off looking at other Universities which ask for AAB/ABB and are realistically in reach, and then get the Economics up to that, rather than worry about there.

I'd also make an unqualified suggestion to - as you got a U in Economics - just apply for a straight Maths degree course, unless you really love Economics. After all, having got the A* in Maths a year early, you'd be playing to strengths you clearly have. I still wouldn't suggest LSE for that, though.
Reply 5
with a u in economics as, chances are slim to none:frown: - what happened exactly? you are predicted a b now, so just a bad set of exams? even the predicted B however will lower your chances.
Reply 6
Juustuburger
You aren't predicted AAA, which is enough of a problem anyway, and a U in Economics - well, there's no chance to be blunt.