The Student Room Group

Is 23 too old to start medical school?

Hello!
I'm a 23 year old recent psychology graduate (I have a 2:1 psychology bsc hons degree) I got my degree when I was 21 and have spent the last 2 years working. My most recent job is working as a data quality analyst for a gp service and thought this was perfect for me as I'm finally using my degree and gaining experience. While working I've found that working in data isn't making me happy but I love the medical aspect of my role and really want to help people. Is 23 too old to change field and enroll in medical school with the aims of eventually being qualified as a locum gp doctor, is it possible or am I being daft wanting to change field? If anyone has any current experiences with medical school or any advice that would be very much appreciated thanks!
Original post by Jwills27
Hello!
I'm a 23 year old recent psychology graduate (I have a 2:1 psychology bsc hons degree) I got my degree when I was 21 and have spent the last 2 years working. My most recent job is working as a data quality analyst for a gp service and thought this was perfect for me as I'm finally using my degree and gaining experience. While working I've found that working in data isn't making me happy but I love the medical aspect of my role and really want to help people. Is 23 too old to change field and enroll in medical school with the aims of eventually being qualified as a locum gp doctor, is it possible or am I being daft wanting to change field? If anyone has any current experiences with medical school or any advice that would be very much appreciated thanks!

Certainly not!

If you think it's worth giving it a shot then go for it :smile:

Graduate entry medicine is however much more competitive so it's highly likely to take many years for you to get a place - if you are one of the very very lucky ones.
(edited 2 years ago)
*The resident geriatric med-student-to-be comes hobbling in*