The Student Room Group

Used car recommendations?

Hi guys so I’m 21, looking to buy a car and UK based. I want to buy a used car to take with me to uni, my uni is 200 miles away so have to drive about 4 hours to get there. Anyone know how many miles o should look out for when buying a new car so I know it’s reliable enough to use on the motorway and drive for four hours and any good used cars for students. I’ve been driving for three years but never been on the motorway so a bit nervous so I’d be more reassured if I have a good car but remember I’m only gonna buy a used one cos I don’t have enough financially for a brand new car just yet. Any recommendations?
Don't worry about not buying brand new. Second hand cars can be just as reliable, and a hell of a lot cheaper!

I'm definitely no expert, but with over 10 years of driving, I've only had 3 cars. All second hand.

First car was a Nissan. Generally they have good reputation for being reliable (and Japanese cars in general). It was 16 years old, petrol, and had about 70k miles on the clock.

Second car was a 12 year old Peugeot, diesel, think it also had around 70k miles on the clock. I only got rid of the Nissan because family found this car and said it would be better for me as I was now at uni also driving up and down the motorway a lot! French cars tend to get a bad reputation but this car was fine! It was 20 when I sold it for scrap. It had done 110k+ miles. It was only because it failed an MOT and all the fixes weren't worth the cost over buying a new car.

Current car is a Ford, was 14 when I got it. Again diesel, but only 40k miles on the clock. This one should last me years! I think Fords/British cars generally have a good reputation too.