The Student Room Group

Should I do Business BTEC?

Hi, I'm in Year 11, and for sixth form, I'm thinking of taking business btec, however, I'm not very good at maths so I was wondering if business btec has maths involved in it - also are there any formulas you need to know for the business exam, hope that makes sense. If it helps the course I'm thinking if doing is the: BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Business.
Thanks,
Neve
(edited 10 months ago)
Original post by neve_xx
Hi, I'm in Year 11, and for sixth form, I'm thinking of taking business btec, however, I'm not very good at maths so I was wondering if business btec has maths involved in it - also are there any formulas you need to know for the business exam, hope that makes sense. If it helps the course I'm thinking if doing is the:
Thanks,
Neve

Hello, Sarah here, I can draw from my own experience a couple of years ago that BTEC business is actually a good GCSE choice to persue. I used to think the same way because I was fed up of doing maths. However, the exam is split up into coursework and an exam based ratio, 60%-40%. I think that there are calculations, of course, however, the maths questions are more or less common sense/ become more straight forwards with practise, hope this helps!
Reply 2
Original post by sarahlovessummer
Hello, Sarah here, I can draw from my own experience a couple of years ago that BTEC business is actually a good GCSE choice to persue. I used to think the same way because I was fed up of doing maths. However, the exam is split up into coursework and an exam based ratio, 60%-40%. I think that there are calculations, of course, however, the maths questions are more or less common sense/ become more straight forwards with practise, hope this helps!

It does help, thank you :smile:
Original post by neve_xx
It does help, thank you :smile:

no worries, if you have any other questions about gcse btec business, you can ask me if you want.
Original post by neve_xx