The Student Room Group

Please help signing this petition

Petition: Grant Home Fee status for all who are in the UK under the BNO visa
https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/632728

British National (Overseas) visa holders in the UK have moved to the UK to settle. Having home fee status for those attending universities makes it easier for them to settle in.

Hi guys, I was born in Hong Kong in 2005, and I am turning 18 this October. I had lived in Hong Kong for 16 years since birth and moved to the UK in July 2021 under the BNO scheme.

I am a student who repeated a year and just finished my GCSE this summer, and would like to pursue higher education after my A-Levels by applying for undergraduate courses.

According to the information provided by Cambridge University, the fixed annual tuition fee for international students studying veterinary medicine is £63,990 for 2023 entry. Our family is not in a good financial position because my mother is unemployed due to her illness. This means that I would not be able to afford the international fee for my undergraduate course because we do not have the financial resources to do so, and I do not want to create a financial burden on my beloved family. I have seen my parents sacrificing too much and striving so hard for my sister's and my sake by moving to England just to give us the best possible place to grow and become a morally good person.