The Student Room Group

Cannot decide

I applied through clearing for History. I do plan on either joining the Civil Service OR converting to a Law degree but I decided on doing a history degree because I’m more likely to get a first than if I did a law degree. Especially considering I have taken 2 gap years and I am not sure if I would be able to manage the academic rigour of going head first into a law degree with applying for internships, vac schemes, insight days etc.
I did do some online courses to try to build up my academic skills before university. 1 in history, 1 in law and 1 in Spanish.

I applied through clearing to the University of Nottingham for History with a foundation year. (4 years)

I also applied through clearing for French and Spanish at Cardiff University. (4 years)

I know they are both Russel Group universities and that holds some weight with law firms as they prefer Russel Group graduates.

University of Nottingham - History with foundation year

Pros:
- I visited the campus last year and loved how beautiful it was. Nice Student Union building, arts department building,engineering building etc. Nice library. Decent accommodation. University Park Campus, millennium gardens, lake for boats and rowing.
- Better facilities, gym, swimming facilities, exercise classes. Sports Centre, Fitness Centre. Rock climbing.
- A LOT of societies. But, to be fair, I won’t have all the time in the world to attend every single society I am interested in. Some of the societies they have that relate to my future career are also societies that Cardiff has- Pro Bono society, Amnesty International, language societies etc.
- Seems a bit more diverse than Cardiff, although Cardiff does seem like a lovely city and quite friendly.
- Midlands uni - a LOT of other universities in the surrounding cities which creates a fun student atmosphere. Huge student population in Nottingham. Uni of Nottingham alone has 42,000 students. Cardiff has 33,000 which isn’t far off.