The Student Room Group

Adult student and cooking

Just thought I'd give a bit of background here:
So, I'm 25, graduated from uni two years ago and lived at home with my mum (I still live at home). Now, I'm in my second year of a two year level 5 college course, whilst also on a placement once a week and also volunteering.

However, there is one thing that has come to my mind and it's that I can't cook. Yes, I'm 25 and can't cook. The list of what I'm able to cook is so limited you guys would be shocked. Here are the things I can cook:

- eggs- scrambled or omelette
- steak
- peas and corn
- broccoli
- spinach

Is this normal or is anyone else my age still in this situation? And is there anyone else out there perhaps studying or living alone and cannot cook. I just worry how I'll do it as I'm useless in the kitchen. Any experiences would be extremely helpful
Original post by Gabriela555
So, I'm 25, graduated from uni two years ago and lived at home with my mum (I still live at home). Now, I'm in my second year of a two year level 5 college course, whilst also on a placement once a week and also volunteering.

However, there is one thing that has come to my mind and it's that I can't cook. Yes, I'm 25 and can't cook. The list of what I'm able to cook is so limited you guys would be shocked. Here are the things I can cook:

- steak
- peas and corn
- broccoli
- spinach

Is this normal or is anyone else my age still in this situation? And is there anyone else out there perhaps studying or living alone and cannot cook. I just worry how I'll do it as I'm useless in the kitchen. Any experiences would be extremely helpful

Hiya,

When I first moved out and went to Uni, I didn't know how to cook. All I knew was how to boil pasta and use a store bought sauce and that's pretty much what I relied on during my first term.