The Student Room Group

Could I realistically get into Cambridge

Cambridge has always been a dream of mine and I would love to go but I need some realistic advice I guess. I think it stems from the fact that I want to apply for computer science, which is pretty competitive from what I hear and I would like to apply to trinity which I think is hard to get into.

Some background info I guess:
I come from a pretty poor city and I would be the first generation in my family to actually go to university. I myself am eligible for things such as free school meals and bursary’s because of my poor background. I attend a State comprehensive school which I’m pretty sure only really ever gets 2 or 3 successful Oxbridge applicants each year.

For my gcses I received 3 grade 9s, 6 grade 8s and 1 grade 7, which I know isn’t bad but I see so many people talking about applying with like straight 9s so I can’t help but be a tad bit insecure of them.

I’m currently studying 4 a levels (maths, further maths, physics and computer science). To compensate for maybe the underwhelming gcse grades I’ve attempted to participate in as many and all super/extracurricular I could.
I took part in the ukmt exam thing (even though I didn’t get very far), I’m currently participating in a computing course online as well as many outreach programmes.

I just started year 12 so I can’t really say much about predicted grades but I’ll obviously work hard to get them as high as I can.

I’m just wondering because I don’t want to dream for something that is impossible. Also any tips would be appreciated :smile:
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous
Cambridge has always been a dream of mine and I would love to go but I need some realistic advice I guess. I think it stems from the fact that I want to apply for computer science, which is pretty competitive from what I hear and I would like to apply to trinity which I think is hard to get into.