The Student Room Group

How to ACTUALLY get rich and build wealth

I'm a 22 year old graduate and have worked a standard 9-5 job as a software developer. I've come to realise that I hate going into the office everyday, sitting at my desk for 8 hours working on something of no interest to me, only to earn a mediocre wage. I don't want to do this for the rest of my life. I want to achieve financial freedom, being able to make more money working from wherever I want, at whatever time I want.

After having this idea of increasing my income, I've read a couple of self improvement books such as the Millionaire Fastlane from which I learnt that following that standard advice of working the 9-5, putting money aside in my savings and pension, puts me in the "slow lane" (basically a path to mediocrity). I've already seen this for myself in my office where there are people in their 50s, coming to work everyday looking miserable and complaining about the cost of living and pensions. I don't want to end up here.

I've seen quite a lot of advice on how to build wealth and be financially free, but it just leaves me confused. I know I shouldn't just be focussing on making big numbers otherwise I'm never going to actually reach that point. I've heard advice that "the best business model in 2023 is xyz" whether that SMMA, dropshipping, copywriting etc. I've also heard advice that I need to stop caring about money, and instead focus on finding my purpose. Money will come in when I put my full efforts into that purpose. I've also been told that trying to find my passion and make money from it is just ******** and it won't work.

I don't know what to do anymore, could I get some advice please.

Scroll to see replies

Step 1: be born into generational wealth

Step 2: be rich and build wealth

Since you've not achieved step 1 presumably, accept the best case scenario is a comfortable middle class life.
Reply 2
What type of lifestyle do you want to live?