The Student Room Group

Psychology Qualifications

Hey guys
I'm currently an assistant psychologist. I graduated a couple months ago from my bachelors (four years coz placement) and was voluntary for two months or so before becoming full time.
I've been in my job for about a month, and I'm just wondering if anyone is aware of any qualifications I can do on the side just so I have a few more things under my belt? I'm not at this point yet thinking of doing a masters because I feel like it'll be too much right now and I haven't completely settled yet.
But I've seen like level 2 certificates in counselling skills and that seems like something good to have. Is anyone aware of other psychology-related qualifications that will be good to have?
Reply 1
Original post by zarx_20
Hey guys
I'm currently an assistant psychologist. I graduated a couple months ago from my bachelors (four years coz placement) and was voluntary for two months or so before becoming full time.
I've been in my job for about a month, and I'm just wondering if anyone is aware of any qualifications I can do on the side just so I have a few more things under my belt? I'm not at this point yet thinking of doing a masters because I feel like it'll be too much right now and I haven't completely settled yet.
But I've seen like level 2 certificates in counselling skills and that seems like something good to have. Is anyone aware of other psychology-related qualifications that will be good to have?

I was going to suggest a counselling skills certificate. I did my level 3 alongside my BSc and then a level 4 diploma alongside working as an AP. It's definitely been helpful, and I now work as a CBT Therapist. I don't personally know much about other courses, but have a search around. Something involving therapeutic skills would likely be good, as that doesn't tend to be covered as much during a psychology degree (though your placement year may have given you good experience in this area).
Reply 2