The Student Room Group

Can I get into uni with A*AC, advice needed please

Hi all,
I'm an intl student and I took CIE A Levels last O/N. I scored the following: Eng Lang (A*), Econ (A) and History (C). I'm going to apply to Politics and IR.

I'm truly devastated because I worked so hard on them esp history (I didn't have a teacher throughout so I had to self study it alongside econ), and all my AS Level scores were high A's so I thought I would get AAA or even AAB at least, thereby meeting entry requirements for most univs. I understand that I screwed up for history but im so depressed and dont know what I should do.

The univs I would like to apply to are:
- UCL (AAA)
- Warwick (AAA)
- Bristol (AAA)
(Other two unis undecided)

I know these are selective univs but I still want to apply because they're the only ones with big scholarships (and I would need to have one to afford studying in the UK) and I really do like the course structures. I have safeties-ish schools for other countries but I just want to shoot my shot for these but realistically speaking, should I? Idk if this is true but if you don't meet the entry requirements, I heard that you get an auto-reject as well so... :frown:

I want to ask if and how small of a chance I might have in these and would appreciate any advice. For context, I got all A*s in my 8 IGCSEs, I am still working on my PS (yes, I am severely running late due to a tough home situation) and I also want to know if my extenuating circumstances (family circunstances, country's political situation, mental health issues) could lessen the poor impression of the C grade. Warwick and Bristol also offer a separate extenuating circumstances form so I am hoping to fill it out as well.

Please give a word of advice if you can! Very obviously, I am not well-versed w UCAS or the app process so if I am getting anything wrong, please correct me. Many thanks.
And just to check, you are not retaking History this year?