The Student Room Group

First Car

Hi!

I am 18 years old, passed my test almost a year ago, and I am now looking for my first car (manual).

I have narrowed down my choices to in order of preference: Hyundai i20, Mazda 2 and Peugeot 208

I would like to get anyone’s opinion, who knows cars a lot better than I do, on which they think is best.

I have received an insurance quote for a 2019 1.2L Hyundai i20 (I haven’t checked others yet) which came out as 1.1k.

I am looking to get a car based on its reliability and overall functioning. Cost isn’t really an issue (6.5k is the most id spend) because I have been working for over 2 years and saving up for this car (which will be bought completely by myself inc. 80% of the insurance). I am also investing quite a lot of money into this car as I am looking to keep it for at least 5 years as I need it for uni and work. I understand that some of you may think this is unrealistic but as I am putting my own money into this car, I am going to drive safely and protect it with my life😭

*Also I have looked at other popular first cars (vw polo/golf, corsa, yaris, fiesta etc) and to be honest, I’m not really a fan of them and have narrowed it down to these three only, but if anyone does have strong alternative suggestions I’ll be happy to hear them out.

Any opinions appreciated :smile:
I used to have a hyundai i20. Mine was a 2010 (60 plate though). It was a great car and i never had any trouble with it. I loved it. I also had another hyundai before that (a hyundai getz).
Mazdas are deffo worth looking into. They are good cars. A friend of mine swears by mazdas and wont have anything else.
Reply 2
I'd look at the Hyundai and Mazda as favourite options. Hyundais are built very cheaply so will feel rattly and plasticy but are reliable otherwise. Mazdas are a lot more solid, but older models can rust so bring someone with you who can have a look underneath for you (unless you are confident doing this)