The Student Room Group

Options for ill health in final module of Degree

Hi,
I’m a mature student and am just starting the final module of the final year of my Degree in Special Effects. My average grade for all my previous modules has been 82%. Unfortunately my hip arthritis has deteriorated to a point that I am unable to walk. The Degree is very hands on and requires me to be able to stand (which currently I can’t). I’m absolutely devastated, does anyone know if mitigating circumstances can be used to mark my final module as I don’t think I’ll be able to complete it? I am going to talk to Uni tomorrow, but just wondering if there are any policy’s about this?
Many Thanks
Original post by Sadie RJ
Hi,
I’m a mature student and am just starting the final module of the final year of my Degree in Special Effects. My average grade for all my previous modules has been 82%. Unfortunately my hip arthritis has deteriorated to a point that I am unable to walk. The Degree is very hands on and requires me to be able to stand (which currently I can’t). I’m absolutely devastated, does anyone know if mitigating circumstances can be used to mark my final module as I don’t think I’ll be able to complete it? I am going to talk to Uni tomorrow, but just wondering if there are any policy’s about this?
Many Thanks
The policy will be entirely internal to your university and course.
Reply 2
Original post by threeportdrift
The policy will be entirely internal to your university and course.
Thank you, I suspected it would be, but was just checking if there is a national policy.
Reply 3
Original post by Sadie RJ
Hi,
Many Thanks

I'm certainly no expert on this subject, but:

Your university is likely to have a Disability Services team (though the name may vary) and it would be worth talking to them, as it sounds like your condition might constitute a disability.