The Student Room Group

Student Finance for Cambridge/Bristol/Southampton

Hi there. I am an offer holder for Cambridge (Pembroke College), Bristol and Southampton for Engineering and was curious about finance at these universities. I plan on taking a student loan.

I understand that Cambridge has a bursary system where students are automatically considered and given a bursary depending on their background. I was wondering what roughly would this amount be typically and is this a consistent amount per year? They also estimate that my expenses for the year excluding the course fees would be around £10,000, would you say this is accurate?

Regarding Bristol and Southampton, are there similar bursary and scholarships schemes? And are sponsorships a thing? For context I’m currently a private school student who has been on a bursary for my entire time there.

Any information about this or any additional information will be appreciated
Original post by Katara1204
Hi there. I am an offer holder for Cambridge (Pembroke College), Bristol and Southampton for Engineering and was curious about finance at these universities. I plan on taking a student loan.

I understand that Cambridge has a bursary system where students are automatically considered and given a bursary depending on their background. I was wondering what roughly would this amount be typically and is this a consistent amount per year? They also estimate that my expenses for the year excluding the course fees would be around £10,000, would you say this is accurate?

Regarding Bristol and Southampton, are there similar bursary and scholarships schemes? And are sponsorships a thing? For context I’m currently a private school student who has been on a bursary for my entire time there.