The Student Room Group

What can I do with two nat5s

I am a really good student despite the lack of qualifications, I had to miss a lot of school due to a mental health crisis only got two nat5s in about eight months of studying and was denied an extra year at school. I have very little parental support but I want to go into further education. All the college courses I have looked at require at least three nat5s, I guess what I want to know is if there's some way of getting around this or do I need to spend a year trying to get more qualifications?
Original post by katie________
I am a really good student despite the lack of qualifications, I had to miss a lot of school due to a mental health crisis only got two nat5s in about eight months of studying and was denied an extra year at school. I have very little parental support but I want to go into further education. All the college courses I have looked at require at least three nat5s, I guess what I want to know is if there's some way of getting around this or do I need to spend a year trying to get more qualifications?

What are your goals in education? Without further information I'm just going to throw some more generic advice your way. But if you've any specific education/career goals in mind you'd like more specific advice for let me know and I'll absolutely help you try and find the best pathway.

If you live within travelling distance of Glasgow, Glasgow Clyde College offers "Gateway to..." courses. Some are specific, like "Gateway to Health" and others are more vague such as "Gateway to College". They are aimed at people ready to start SCQF Level 4-5 courses. National 5s are an SCQF Level 5 course, as a comparison. Other colleges nearer you may offer similar courses - definitely look into what is on offer.