The Student Room Group

Driving lessons, is this really bad progress?

Basically, I need to know If I'm making slow progress, well I know I am, but I just want some opinions and advice on a few things. Firstly, I've had around 20 hours of lesson and so far I've learnt the cockpit drill, mirror signal manouver, parallel parking, turning right and left, mini roundabouts, creeping forward, stopping at traffic lights, reverse, changing gears (1st, 2nd, 3rd). At first, I spent so many hours on a really quiet road doing left turns, then right, all on first gear. I've heard of people going straight into busy roads after like 2 lessons? I understand the reason of this, I needed to master the basics but I can't help feeling I'm a really crap driver. From your experiences, is this really slow progress? Cos I'm unsure whether or not to change my instructor because he is really nice and calm and goes through everything nice and clearly, but I just think maybe I should experience someone new? And also how many lessons did you take to pass and how many more lessons do you think it would take me to learn everything else? Because before I was hoping It'd take me 40-45 lessons but this is looking unrealistic due to my slow progress : (

(I do my driving lessons in a busy part of London if that makes any difference)
(edited 11 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
bump
It all depends on your teacher. One lady I had dragged it out so much and I hadn't gone past third gear on my 15th lesson (and I'm a competent driver.)

I switched to a different teacher and he took me on the 70mph dual carriageway on my first lesson and I took my test 3 weeks after that.

However, some of my friends just do an hour a week and it took them like 6 months, whereas I did 2/3 lessons a week to get it done quicker.

Don't worry, you'll be there soon :smile: you shouldn't rush it anyway, it can be dangerous!
Reply 3
Original post by millie-rose