The Student Room Group

How can I get rid of this University Accommodation Room?

Hi there and thank you for reading

I have gone back to study 2nd year music at university of Sheffield after having taken a leave of absence for a year to see if I could really commit myself to my course.
I am regretting now being in halls of residence waiting for the new term to start and I want to find a replacement tenant for my flat.
I'm a very talented musician but I am so concerned about ending up seriously struggling for money in years to come because of my student debt, being £6,000 x 4 (because I did 1st year twice).

How can I get rid of this room?

I really need someone to take it. Would a site like Gumtree or Spareroom be my best bet or shall I go to the accomodation office at my uni in the morning?

Many thanks, Sorry to bore you!
And also, does anyone think a music degree is a black hole that will engulf my future? I have scary premonitions..
Reply 2
You won't be able to advertise uni-owned accommodation outside the uni, so not Gumtree etc. Your uni should be able to advise on their internal process for what you want. There may be a waiting list for your accommodation, from which they can find someone to take over your room. Failing that, they will give you pointers on how you might go about finding a new tenant.

Student Finance loan repayments are linked to how much you earn. You won't start repaying until you earn £21,000, at which point you will pay around £9 a month at the current rates. Repayment amounts will only increase if you start earning more. If you earn below £21,000, you won't make any repayments at all. I started uni in 2008 and I made my first repayment last month! Seriously - at this stage it's much more important to justify the debt by concentrating on your studies, than worrying about a scenario which a) might not start for years and b) when it does, you will barely be impacted.