The Student Room Group

Driving lesson progress?

Okay so i have been doing driving lessons for 2 months now around 15 hours in total. Ive been on main roads, roundabouts, completed all manouvers and feel like ive done alot! The thing is i just dont think im good at it. Im always making mistakes with gear changes, observations and especially positioning! I also feel as though i cant pull away from junctions/ roundabouts as quickly as other drivers:frown: ive passed my theory and my test is booked for march- when will it start to get easier and feel like 'second nature' everyone talks about? Also does your nerves get better with time? Thanks alot !
I've had 9 hours of driving and have also completed all maneuvers. It seems like you're doing about 2 hours per week which will be plenty in time for March. Some people pass after twenty hours, others take up to 40-50 hours but it all depends. I think I progress well because I always pick one thing to focus on per lesson. For example this week I focused on my steering. Usually my instructor says I go too close to the curb and has occasionally had to reach over and turn the wheel in an emergency when I got too close. This week he didn't tell me to move over once and he praised me at the end to say my steering has really improved even if my gear changes were a little slower than usual.
The point is I believe picking one thing to focus on each time you drive can really help to improve your driving overall. And don't worry about being slow at pulling out. You'll get better at it once you become a more confident driver and are better at judging distances. Good luck!
Dw, I've had 80+ hours and still can't drive :redface:
It's just practice tbh which takes time, 2 months really isn't a long time and it's better that you make these mistakes now, ace your test and become a good driver in the future :h:
Reply 4
Original post by perpetualpaths