The Student Room Group

Why do my parents hate me?

For as long as I can remember my parents have always criticised me and have tried to control my life. They wanted me to do Law and even tried to hack in to my UCAS form once to make sure I was applying for Law. I didn't apply to Law but went for a BMus because that was my true passion. They never stopped being angry at that, saying I was chucking my life away.

I lived at home for most of my degree and they made my life hell for 3 years. I had a boyfriend during my first year but could hardly ever see him because of my parents. My parents would spy on my phone calls from outside my room. Then, they would burst into my room, demanding to know who I was talking to and wanting to see my phone.

Then, my boyfriend cheated on me. The stress I had from my parents as well as the cheating caused me to have a mental breakdown. I had to interrupt a year of my degree because of this.

After I graduated, I had enough. I moved out of my parents' house and got two jobs in order to be able to afford rent. My parents were really angry when they found out and said that they will never give me any money now.

I see my parents only on Eid when the whole extended family gathers at their house. My parents simply greet me and then ignore me for the whole day. The only time they ever call me is for an arranged marriage to a wealthy guy they know.

Why do my parents hate me? I never did anything wrong but they hate me so much for some reason. My mum sent back the Mother's Day gift I got her with a note, saying "don't bother." Why do they not want to love me?
We can't tell you I'm afraid.
I don’t know, but I’m sorry that your parents are like this 💚
Seems as though they care too much about money. Evidence in the wealthy guy and them trying to get you to do law.