The Student Room Group

Take an adventure with Hazelly!

:ciao: Hi and Welcome! :ciao:

This blog was first made as I was due surgery to correct a tracheo-oesophageal fistula (TOF) which was diagnosed a month before the first COVID-19 lockdown in the UK.

The plan for this blog was to just keep track of my days before surgery and hopefully get to know some new people on TSR it will also gave me something to focus on which certainly helped! BUT my goal now is to document my adventures through college, applying to university maybe, my health, and any adventures I get to do covid-safely!

About me:

I’m a second-year student nurse at uni :thumbsup:

I was born with a rare syndrome called VACTERL, affecting my spine, GI tract, trachea, oesophagus, kidneys, and my bladder :shakecane:

I live with a colostomy and I’m determined to not make this stop me from graduating as a paediatric nurse :nurse:and to also advocate for those with stomas and chronic conditions :h:

Goals:

Start some societies in year 2!! Maybe even swimming :tongue:

Read 70 books for the year

Continue to focus on mental health and wellbeing :yep:

And to stay active on TSR!! :smile:

I hope you enjoy this blog and thank you to anyone who stays around!
(edited 1 year ago)

Scroll to see replies

Best of luck for the surgery! Sounds pretty complicated, so I hope it goes well. Could I be added to the tag list too?
Original post by DrawTheLine
Best of luck for the surgery! Sounds pretty complicated, so I hope it goes well. Could I be added to the tag list too?

Thank you! I don’t know too much about the actual surgery either as the surgeon spoke to my parents when I got diagnosed as I had an general anaesthetic for an endoscopy. So I’m waiting on another phone call next week to find out keep about it :eek:

And of course, I’ll add you now :biggrin:
Posting to subscribe. Thinking of you and here to support if/as needed :smile: