The Student Room Group

Life of a Psychology Student

Hi everyone,

Are you interested in learning about the human mind? Do you enjoy researching different topics? Do you like to read people's minds? Well if you're answer is yes to any of these questions then Psychology is the course for you!

I am currently in my final year of Psychology at De Montfort University and I can say that I have learnt about so many different interesting topics and I have had the chance to develop some essential life skills. If you want to read about the course here is the link https://www.dmu.ac.uk/study/courses/undergraduate-courses/psychology-bsc-hons-degree/psychology-bsc-hons.aspx

I remember how excited I was to start my Psychology degree, how I was ready to broaden my knowledge from A level Psychology! One of the reasons I chose Psychology was because my A level teacher said hey tianna you would be a great Psychology tutor and that encouraged me to apply for Psychology at university.

DMU have made my experience so exciting and my passion for Psychology is now much stronger. In my first year, we learnt about many different areas of Psychology such as historical perspectives and one of my lecturers who was from America made it so fun and interactive! We also learnt about core areas such as biological psychology and personality psychology! I really enjoyed applying the information to the written assignments to help develop my essay skills. We also had to write up research reports based on interesting research and data sets! It is a very good skill to have.