The Student Room Group

Suggestions for work experience + volunteering needed

Hi, I’m going into year 12 next year and really need some suggestions of work, volunteering, essay competitions etc. that would be useful for applying for a scholarship for a degree at the University of Athens to study Archeology, History and Literature of Ancient Greece. The A-Levels I will be taking are Classics, French and Spanish and the scholarship requires good knowledge of languages so things relating to languages, archeology, and classics and that are located in North Yorkshire would be ideal.
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 1
Have a quick google for your local archaeological unit! Mine was running small volunteer digs, especially through the summer, which are usually free and really good to put on an application! If not they will likely run lectures or community gatherings - every little helps when you are trying to get your foot in the door :smile: I'm currently doing my masters in Archaeology - please don't be afraid to ask any questions!!
Reply 2
Original post by hrusse2
Have a quick google for your local archaeological unit! Mine was running small volunteer digs, especially through the summer, which are usually free and really good to put on an application! If not they will likely run lectures or community gatherings - every little helps when you are trying to get your foot in the door :smile: I'm currently doing my masters in Archaeology - please don't be afraid to ask any questions!!

Thank you! I’ve had a little look but unfortunately you have to be over 18 to volunteer in the digs 😢however I will contact them and see if they do anything else.
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 3
Original post by lilybaxter
Thank you! I’ve had a little look but unfortunately you have to be over 18 to volunteer in the digs 😢however I will contact them and see if they do anything else.