The Student Room Group

Do Universities even care about extenuating circumstances?

Just what the title says. I didnt manage to get my grades and resat to not do well again this year as my attendence was barely 50% in both years for a couple reasons I dont want to disclose online. I have evidence and proof of stuff that was happening but Unis didnt even ask about them before they instantly denied me. This is through clearing and for courses that I was one grade off in one subject. Even when first applying as a care experienced student, I felt like unis really undermined what it meant and werent sticking to what was on their own pages regarding it. Sorry if it sounds like a rant but I just want to know after believing all this time whether it was going to at least be considered
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by waterpot435
Just what the title says. I didnt manage to get my grades and resat to not do well again this year as my attendence was barely 50% in both years for a couple reasons I dont want to disclose online. I have evidence and proof of stuff that was happening but Unis didnt even ask about them before they instantly denied me. This is through clearing and for courses that I was one grade off in one subject. Even when first applying as a care experienced student, I felt like unis really undermined what it meant and werent sticking to what was on their own pages regarding it. Sorry if it sounds like a rant but I just want to know after believing all this time whether it was going to at least be considered

If the Uni filled the course with those who have met their grades - and therefore there were no 'spaces' - they will not have been able to take you regardless of any mitigating circumstances. No Uni can promise you a place if you don't meet your offer - completing the paperwork is never a guarantee of a place at any Uni.

Think about resits and reapplying - or did you get your Insurance?