The Student Room Group

Pros and cons of your university

Do you suggest your university for others?
Hi @Narges zafari

I hope you are well!

I would highly recommend my university to any one who is interested in studying online. The University of Essex Online offers a range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses in business, psychology and more. I personally chose to study business because it is the middle ground to everything I want to achieve and I am extremely passionate about the subject.

I enjoy my course because it is highly accommodative and flexible. As an online student, I am required to dedicate 15-20 hours towards my studies per week. Meaning, if I have a busy week, then I can always catch up on weekends. I just love how the university designs the courses to fit one's schedule. I also appreciate the services that my university offers, such as disability support, and study skills support. If I have a query, the standard response time is between 24 to 48 hours, and I always receive my grades 7 days after submission. Although it can be challenging to balance work, studies and personal commitments, there is always an option for students to take breaks. I have seen my fellow students utilize that option and bounce back in to studying once they were ready to continue.

As a business student, I also enjoy how current affairs and real life situations are used in our learning. One of the assignments that stood up for me was when I was required to act as a business lawyer to advise a client on types of contractual agreements. The assignment was slightly challenging but it gave me a taste of how the professional side of business law works. It was a stimulating assignment to complete as I incorporated theoretical frameworks and definitions to strengthen my advise to 'my client'.

If you have any questions about studying online, then feel free to contact me!

Best wishes,
Minkateko - University of Essex Online Student Ambassador
Reply 2
Thanks