The Student Room Group

Help workload master’s

Hi all,

I have just gotten my timetable for my masters and module assesments and it’s really heavy. I thought I would be able to do it straight after undergraduate but I am feeling really overwhelmed.

I don’t know when it is good to drop out - should I experience the first week or should I just quit now.

I don’t want to judge it quickly or drop out so late.
Original post by Anonymous
Hi all,

I have just gotten my timetable for my masters and module assesments and it’s really heavy. I thought I would be able to do it straight after undergraduate but I am feeling really overwhelmed.

I don’t know when it is good to drop out - should I experience the first week or should I just quit now.

When I did my master's, it was 8 modules for the entire year and I needed to do 60 hour weeks (not sure about other students). I am not sure about you, but that's pretty standard for me.

Don't get me wrong, some of the students did break down during the course because of the intense pressure and workload. However, most if not all got through it.

I suppose it's down to individual preference and whether you are able to cope.

The first week unfortunately is not a good indicator of what the course would be like further on. It's not really until the 5th-6th week that you get to feel the full breadth of the workload, and it's not until the first set of exams in winter that you would feel what the amount of revision required would be like.

The master's degree isn't designed to be easy going and it's not designed to allow you much free time. It's meant to be very intensive and hands on. You would need to work hard in it in order to get through it.